## **SUPREME COURT OF INDIA**

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following nine Advocates as Judges of the Karnataka High Court:

- 1. Shri Neranahalli Srinivasan Sanjay Gowda,
- 2. Ms. Mulimani Jyoti,
- 3. Shri Rangaswamy Nataraj,
- 4. Shri Nagendra Ramachandra Naik,
- 5. Shri Chandangoudar Hemant,
- 6. Shri Tarikere Sathyanarayana Venkatesh,
- 7. Shri Ravi Venkappa Hosmani,
- 8. Shri Pradeep Singh Yerur, and
- 9. Shri Maheshan Nagaprasanna.

The above recommendation made by the then Acting Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court on 12<sup>th</sup> and 16<sup>th</sup> February, 2019, in consultation with his two senior-most colleagues, has the concurrence of the State of Karnataka.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have consulted our colleagues conversant with the affairs of the Karnataka High Court. Copies of letters of opinion of our consultee-colleagues received in this regard are placed below.

With a view to assess merit and suitability of the above-named recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have carefully scrutinized the material placed on record. The Collegium has taken note of the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file as well as complaints received against the above-named recommendees. Apart from this, we considered it appropriate to invite all the recommendees for interaction with the Collegium. On the basis of interaction and having regard to all relevant factors, the Collegium is of the considered view that

S/Shri (1) Neranahalli Srinivasan Sanjay Gowda, (2) Ms. Mulimani Jyoti, (3) Rangaswamy Nataraj, (4) Nagendra Ramachandra Naik, (5) Chandangoudar Hemant, (6) Ravi Venkappa Hosmani, (7) Pradeep Singh Yerur, and (8) Maheshan Nagaprasanna, Advocates, are suitable for being appointed as Judges of the Karnataka High Court.

As regards Shri Tarikere Sathyanarayana Venkatesh, having regard to the material on record and all relevant factors, the Collegium is of the considered view that his case deserves to be remitted to the High Court. The Collegium resolves to recommend accordingly.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri (1) Neranahalli Srinivasan Sanjay Gowda, (2) Ms. Mulimani Jyoti, (3) Rangaswamy Nataraj, (4) Nagendra Ramachandra Naik, (5) Chandangoudar Hemant, (6) Ravi Venkappa Hosmani, (7) Pradeep Singh Yerur, and (8) Maheshan Nagaprasanna, Advocates, be appointed as Judges of the Karnataka High Court. Their *inter se* seniority be fixed as per the existing practice.

Having regard to acute shortage of Judges in Karnataka High Court it would be appropriate if the above proposal is processed expeditiously.

(Ranjan Gogoi), C.J.I.

(S.A. Bobde), J.

(N.V.Ramana), J.

October 03, 2019.